Login |  Register |  help

Congratulations 5 Crusaders make All State team

Posted Wednesday, January 11, 2012 by lohud.com

All-state Class AA and A football: Five locals highlight AA first team

The New York State Sportswriters Association released its all-state teams for Classes AA and A at 1 p.m. today. You can find the complete list of players from around the state on the NYSSWA’s website. The Class B, C and D winners were announced last Wednesday. You can see the local winners here.

Local teams were well-represented in the very competitive Class AA with five first-team honorees. They included Super 11 linemen Austin Taps, Kameron Tedder and Lance McDowdell, UCLA commit Justin Combs and Rockland player of the year Frank Tucek (pictured right).

Five local players were named first team in Class A as well, led by the Poughkeepsie duo of Josh Oliver and Lawrence Featherston. The Section 1 champ was well-represented, but had some company. Pelham’s Ke’Shaun Stallworh (pictured lower left), Pearl River’s Connor O’Sullivan and John Jay’s Declan Myer all used strong senior seasons to earn first-team honors as well.

As a team, CHSFL runner-up Stepinac had the most selections with five. Poughkeepsie followed with four picks, but two were first-teamers and the other two were second-teamers.

Here’s a look at all the local Class AA and A players who were honored as all-state, including those from local CHSFL teams:

Class AA

First team – Kameron Tedder, Sr., Iona Prep, OL; Lance McDowdell, Sr., Mount Vernon, DL; Austin Taps, Sr., Stepinac, DL; Frank Tucek, Sr., Clarkstown South, DB; Justin Combs, Sr., Iona Prep, DB.

Second team – Bobby Henderson, Sr., John Jay-East Fishkill, LB; Kemet McLean, Sr., New Rochelle, LB; Vincent Narog, Sr., Stepinac, LB.

Third team Mark White, Jr., Stepinac, Athlete; Przemyslaw Popek, Sr., Stepinac, K; Anthony Caldararo, Sr., New Rochelle, DL; Joe Liable, Sr., North Rockland, DL; Kevin Jocelyn, Sr., Ramapo, DB.

Fourth team – Caleb Gilligan-Evans, Sr., Stepinac, RB; Shane Cronin, Jr., Clarkstown South, K; Tom Hagan, Sr., John Jay-East Fishkill, DL; John Dapolito, Jr., North Rockland, LB; Chris Cooper, Jr., Iona Prep, DB.

Fifth team – Parker Howard, Jr., Arlington, RB.

Class A

This page was created in 0.1250 seconds on server 8